Skip to main content
  • Make a Payment
  • Jackson Connect
  • Locations
  • Find a Physician

    Find a Physician

  • Search

    Search the Site


Jackson Hospital Foundation Awards Local Scholarships

Hospital news | Friday, May 15, 2009

The Jackson Hospital Foundation awarded 11 - $1,000 scholarships to area high school seniors planning to pursue a career in the health industry. A luncheon for the honorees and their families was hosted on Wednesday, May 6, at Jackson Hospital.

Funds for the scholarship program were raised through the foundation’s “Say Thanks to Your Doctor” program. Grateful patients sent donations and words of thanks to honor their physicians on Doctor’s Day, celebrated on March 30. William D. Smith, MD, received the most gifts in his honor and was on hand to help award the recipients at the lunch.

(Seated L to R): Santoria Gibbs, BTW Magnet High School; Shonquila Laprade, Wetumpka High School; Kari Stalnaker, Highland Home High School; Gloria Archie, Bullock County High School

(Standing L to R): William D. Smith, MD, board member; Mallory Anderson, Prattville High School; Kristin Naley, Trinity Presbyterian School; William Whatley, III, Wetumpka High School; Casey Moore, South Montgomery County Academy; Casey Cothran, Highland Home High School; Sh’Gay Johnson, Bullock County High School; Laura Harmon, board member; Jessica Tarver, Loveless Academic Magnet Program (LAMP); Derek Parrish, board member

# # #